Each year AEEA recognizes educators who have demonstrated leadership, creativity, and dedication to environmental and outdoor education. Individuals may be recognized in one of three categories.

Outstanding Environmental Educator – Formal Education

The nominee must be an Arkansas Pre-K, elementary, secondary or college educator who incorporates environmental education as a main focus in their curriculum. The nominee should influence students, school, or community in environmental education, awareness, knowledge, and action.

Outstanding Environmental Educator – Non-formal Education

The nominee must be an Arkansas educator performing in a non-formal setting. Non-formal settings include, but are not limited to, nature centers, parks, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies which provide education and outreach programs.  The nominee should exhibit personal and professional commitment to environmental education and have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the field.

The Robert McAfee Environmental Education Lifetime Service Award

The nominee must be an Arkansan who has exhibited personal and professional commitment to environmental education, service, awareness, knowledge, and action throughout their career and life. The nominee should exemplify the values and mission of AEEA, and should have at least 20 years of service in the environmental service field. The award is named after one of AEEA’s founding members and long-time volunteer director.

An individual may nominate themselves or a colleague.

The deadline for nominations to be submitted is March 31, 2023.

For more details, see the Awards page.

Photo by Daniel Olah on Unsplash

Translate »